TOBY Awards

The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY®) Awards is the most prestigious and comprehensive program of its kind in the commercial real estate industry recognizing quality in commercial real estate buildings and rewarding excellence in building management.

During the competition, all facets of a building’s operations are thoroughly evaluated. Entries are judged on everything from community involvement to environmental and sustainability management.

TOBY® winners are recognized in specific categories of building size or type. Judging is based on building standards, community impact, tenant relations, energy conservation, environmental, regulatory and sustainability, emergency preparedness & security standards and the training of building personnel.

Note: All buildings competing at the Regional and International level must have a BOMA 360 designation. (See below)

National TOBY ®Awards Criteria & Entry Requirements


Canadian buildings competing locally and regionally (nationally) in the 2024 calendar year are part of the 2025 BOMA International competition cycle. Buildings that win locally and regionally in 2024 will compete Internationally in 2025. (see timeline above) Access to the 2025 cycle/platform will open in February for local entries. Entrants should prep using the 2024 Entry Requirements with the understanding there may be minor changes once the platform opens and the 2025 cycle begins.

Winners at the local level will receive an invitation to enter into the BOMA Canada National Awards along with a registration form, directly from BOMA Canada. Once qualified, national applicants are provided access to the BOMA International’s online awards portal where they can upload their entries. The online system is also used for judging at the national level.

Return to Competition Waiting Period –

If a building does not win at any level (local, regional (national), international) they are eligible to return to competition at any time (starting at the local level). If a building wins internationally they must sit out according to the eligibility criteria noted in the entry requirements published below.

International TOBY ®Awards Criteria & Entry Requirements

National winners eligible to continue on to the International competition are contacted by BOMA Canada to confirm their intent to participate prior to BOMA International competition. Entrants will be required to adhere to current BOMA International TOBY® Awards criteria and entry requirements and will be provided access to their existing National entry prior to the International competition.


Now together in one streamlined application portal, the BOMA 360 Performance Program and the TOBY Awards are just what you need to take your building to the next level.

Note: All buildings competing at the Regional and International level must be BOMA 360 designated.

Now it’s even easier to ensure your building achieves the ultimate success. Effective 2023, the TOBY Awards are only given to properties carrying a BOMA 360 distinction (starting at the Regional level) — the most comprehensive and holistic evaluation of operational and management practices. Now you have two opportunities to highlight overall excellence for community impact, emergency preparedness, sustainability, health and wellness, and additional performance metrics for both commercial and industrial buildings.

Before entering the TOBY competition, applying for the BOMA 360 designation serves as the first step in ensuring your building has achieved the minimum level of operational best practices. A new universal recognition platform has been created to simplify the process to help shape high-performance buildings by providing an opportunity to educate property management professionals, reinforce team-building relationships, and increase asset value and tenant retention on a global basis.

The BOMA 360 and TOBY applications have been consolidated into BOMA International’s new 360/TOBY portal where applicants will have access to both applications all in one place. Applicants will have an opportunity to see areas where they can improve before entering the TOBY competition and have a stronger application.

For more information on BOMA 360 visit the BOMA Recognition platform https://recognition.boma.org/

* BOMA 360 is required for all TOBY categories as all properties who participate in the TOBY Awards should have the best practices and standard operating procedures required to operate an Outstanding Building. If you are unsure of which criteria to use for your building type please contact Tyler Kirshner at BOMA International – tkirshner@boma.org.

VIDEO: BOMA International TOBY

Sign up for our newsletter today.