Net Zero Awards

Net Zero Awards

Net Zero Awards

It’s an exciting time when the possibility of having a Net Zero Building is very real. That’s why we are proud to introduce the BOMA Canada Net Zero Awards, supported by Natural Resources Canada. These awards recognize the leadership of owners, developers, designers, and/or managers of buildings which demonstrate significant progress along the path towards net zero energy. The purpose is to help industry and move the market towards net zero energy. The BOMA Canada Net Zero Awards were officially launched on September 28, 2017 at BOMEX in Toronto and the first recipients will be recognized at BOMEX 2018 in Calgary. (The Net Zero Awards are National Awards only and entrants do not have to win at the local level to enter.)

Key Dates (see below)



Entry Criteria and Requirements will be published in early 2018 and the deadline for entry will coincide with other 2018 National Awards (i.e. July 16, 2018).

The Net Zero Awards will be presented in three categories:

• Net Zero – Best In Class: recognizing buildings that have achieved a net‐zero energy status, or have shown to be near net‐zero, based on a minimum of 12 months of data verifying their energy usage and/or production.

• Net Zero – Most Improved: recognizing existing buildings which are significantly improving their energy performance over their own baseline.

• Net Zero – Innovation: recognizing buildings that have put in place exceptional strategies (such as management practices or technologies) that lead to a demonstrable and replicable significant reduction in energy consumption while also providing a return on investment. Technologies or practices that enable the building to generate significant amounts of renewable energy on‐site while still providing a return on investment will also be recognized for this award.


BOMA Canada Net Zero Awards supported by: